ReCap from the Jerry Arnold Challenge with Video

The 10th Anniversary of the Jerry Arnold Challenge was a great success, with 59 teams from across the state turning in some fantastic performances. Despite the cold, overcast, sometimes rainy weather, many athletes were able to showcase their grand early-season form. Some highlights from the meet include:


Caitlan Tate winning the Girls 200m dash for Brookwood.

On the girls' team side, Brookwood won in dominant fashion, accumulating 100 points throughout the day and distancing themselves from challengers including Shiloh (2nd place with 68 points), GAC (a close third place with 67.5 points), and the North Gwinnett girls (fourth place with 48 total points).

Brookwood A's 4x800 meter team winning by one second over North Gwinnett A following a huge final lap by their anchor leg.

Shiloh's girls 4x100 meter win (48.56 seconds) over a closely contested field.

The incredible field competing in the girls 1600 meter run. Emma Rose Bagwell, from Blessed Trinity, won the race with a 5:12.69, but was closely chased by Brookwood's Mackenzie Ellison (5:13.91), Lauren Flynt (5:14.17), East Jackson's Sue Ann Morales (5:14.51), Blessed Trinity's Maddie Heller (5:14.52), and Oconee's Nicole Pachuta (5:14.94) who ALL met Milesplit's silver standard in the same race.

The TJ where, again, multiple girls qualified for the silver standard. Morgan Bentley from Brookwood won the event with a 37-9, but had to out-perform Na'ilah Moore from Fayette County (37-6), Makaila McIntyre from Peachtree Ridge (36-9.5), and Erica O'Neal from Shiloh High School (36-3.5). Chelsea Igberaese's 137-8 Discus throw which qualified her for Milesplit's Gold Standard


Antuane Dennard from South Gwinnett wins the 110 Hurdles

South Gwinnett won the boys' team competition with 71 points, fuelled by wins in the High Jump, the 300 meter hurdles, and the 110 hurdles all by Antuane Dennard, a victory in the 100 meter dash by Terell Smith, and a victory in the 4x100 meter relay (which included both Dennard and Smith as well). Those two men had a magnificent meet.

Jacob McLeod, from Trinity, and his decisive win (9:09) over a talented 3200 field which included Chase Kennedy from East Jackson (9:16), and Hayden Tullos (9:22). Milton's dangerous duo of Sam Bowers and Michael Malkowski going 1, 2 in the 1600, both hitting 4:23, and breaking the chase pack with their powerful last lap.
Elija Godwin from Newton High School who won the boys 200 meters (21.37) and the boys 400 meters (47.38)

Matthew Harris from St. Pius who managed to jump nearly 2 feet farther than his seed distance to win the boys' long jump (22-04.25), and Edmond Graham from Mill Creek who won the triple jump (44-06). Ryan Fontenot from Brookwood who won the Discus by nearly 8 feet with his throw of 154-03.

Videos of these Track events have already been made available on Milesplit. Be sure to give them a watch if you missed the action, and feel free to comment about any fantastic performances which I might have missed!