The Georgia Coaches Association Mentor Program

(Contributions by Andy Christie)

For Complete Info, Click Below: 

GATFXCCA Mentoring Program Information

Who: created by GATFXCCA, for all Cross Country/Track coaches in Georgia

What: Mentor Program

Why: to try and share knowledge and help both veteran and beginning coaches

Benefits: the mentors can pass along knowledge that they have gained through their experiences, helping to educate those that want to improve in their coaching.  In many cases, these coaches had a mentor or mentors themselves, so they are trying to help others, like they have been helped themselves. The mentees can become more educated in coaching practices, or learn more efficient ways of doing things that they have done in the past.  Also, together the mentor and mentee might be able to work together to come up with even better ideas than they could have on their own. 

Goals of the Mentor Program
  • Share knowledge with other coaches, just like others have shared with us in the past
  • Help coaches to grow professionally
  • Create professional relationships that can help us all to improve 
  • To endorse the association's vision/purpose of advancing Cross Country and Track in Georgia
  • To endorse the association's mission to RACE (Represent coaches, Advocate for high standards, Communicate effectively, and Endorse excellence)

Below is a list of mentors for both beginner coaches and veteran coaches.  Before contacting a possible mentor, please read the guidelines for mentors/mentees.

CoachSchoolRegionXC/T&FArea of ExpertiseEmail 
Lisa PittsTelfair County2-AXCGeneral Overall Coachinglpitt@telfairschools.org
Chad McDanielWesleyan 5-ABothGeneral Overall Coachingcmcdaniel@awesleyanschool.org
TC JayWashington Wilkes 7-AT&FGeneral Overall Coachingjayt@wilkes.k12.ga.us
Scott NealTallulah Fall8-ABothGeneral Overall Coachingscott.neal@tallulahfalls.org
Amy EubanksWestminster5-AAAXCGeneral Overall Coachingamye@westminster.net
Chris MayerLovett5-AAABothOrganizing Summer/Offseason Plans, Progressive Training Planschris.mayer@lovett.org
Brad KinserGAC7-AAABothGeneral Overall Coachingbkinser@greateratlantachristian.org
Tim HamlingWoodward Academy4-AAAABothGeneral Overall Coachingtim.hamling@woodward.edu
Chad WalkerStarr's Mill3-AAAAAT&FGeneral Overall Coachingwalker.chad@fcboe.org
Eric DaughertyUnion Grove4-AAAAABothOrganization/Program Managementeric.daugherty@henry.k12.ga.us
Wesley EtienneClarkston5-AAAAABothManagement, Motivation for Higher EducationWesley_Etienne@dekalbschoolsga.org
Jerad JohnsonPope7-AAAAAAT&FStrength & Conditioning, Sprints & Relay Trainingjerad.johnson@cobbk12.org
Danny BrockJohns Creek7-AAAAAAXCGeneral Overall Coachingbrockd@fulton.k12.ga.us
Nick HoustoulakisMarietta3-AAAAAAAT&FSprints & Relays, Program Orginization & Development, nhoustoulakis@marietta-city.k12.ga.us
Jack ColemanMarietta3-AAAAAAABothGeneral Overall Coachingbluedevilsxc@gmail.com
Jonathan GambrellHillgrove3-AAAAAAABothProgram Development, Training, Culturejonathan.gambrell@cobbk12.org
James TigueLambert5-AAAAAAABothGeneral Overall Coachingcoachtigue@gmail.com
Jimmy SorrellsNorth Forsyth5-AAAAAAABothGeneral Overall CoachingJSorrells@forsyth.k12.ga.us


Interested in becoming a mentor?  Contact one of the committee members below--
Comments