Wingfoot High School All-Star Mile Preview

Click Here for a Complete Preview

Atlanta Track Club will be hosting the second annual Wingfoot High School All-Star Mile on May 24 at Emory University.  Each field has 16 of the top seeded athletes in the state of Georgia, including nine state champions across the 800, 1600, and 3200 meter races.  Let's take a look at who is in each race.

Boys Race

The boys race is slated to be one of the deepest mile races of the year with the top 12 guys all seeded under 4:20.  Leading the charge with the fastest seed time of 4:13.1 is Sam Ellis, a 3A 800/1600 meter state champ.  Sam showed his speed this weekend at the meet of champions, clocking a 1:51 chasing down Dixon in the last 100 meters.  Not far behind is defending Wingfoot High School All-Star Mile Champion Chase Kennedy of East Jackson.  Other potential podium finishers are Zach Israel of Brookwood, Khayvonn Benson of Marietta, and Jack Bluth of Milton.  Both Israel and Benson had strong seasons, finishing in the top spots in the 6A 3200 and 1600 meter state races.  Other notable names include Thomas Moore (N. Oconee), David Savic (Marietta), and Braedan Collins (Alexander).  All of these runners have shown that they are contenders for a top three spot.

Girls Race

The girls race is sure to be one for the record books.  In this field alone we have six girls who have already broken 5:00 minutes this season and another five who are close to  breaking through.  Emma Grace Hurley comes in with the fastest time of 4:46 from earlier this season and leads Riley Burr's 4:48, and Carnahan's 4:51 from the state meet.  These future teammates have yet to all be in the same race this year, so it should be exciting who will take the race.  Other contenders looking for a top three spot are Florida's Hannah Brookover, Yanely Gomez of Grayson, and Sue Anne Morales of East Jackson.  These ladies are certainly in the mix when it comes to the win after posting strong season ending races at the state meet.  Rounding out the top 10 should be Alyssa LeClaire (McIntosh), Mary Claire Solomon (Blessed Trinity), Sophia West (Paideia), and 4A 1600 and 3200 Meter State Champion Josie Wirtz (Marist).